Original Screwed Up Click – Who’s left?

Posted: October 15, 2007 in Music
Tags: , , , , ,

It saddens me greatly to write this post and I almost didn’t. Yesterday, Big Moe, another original SUC member passed away at the young age of 33. I was blessed to have known him and had the opportunity to kick it with him on a few occasions. Big Moe was not only a very talented individual, he was an overall great person. He had a love for singing, rapping, chilling, sipping and really just being around friends and family. He was truly a blessing to the Dirty 3rd and especially H-Town. He will be missed but never forgotten. 1 Luv….

Big MoeHis death made me focus on a hard reality. The people who created the music that I grew up listening to, Screw tapes, were quickly diminishing. It started with the very untimely death of Fat Pat and then the originator of slowed down music, DJ Screw. Fat Pat’s brother Big HAWK passed recently also. There are countless others I could mention like Mafio, Gator, Big Rue, etc…

I am one of those individuals who H A Dubb was referring to on his documentary. He stated, “he knows people who always jam screw”. Yesterday, I was listening to “Back on the Streets” which was a screw tape that was released in 1996 that features Lil KeKe and Big HAWK. When HAWK begins to flow, I chunk the deuce and say RIP HAWK. I do the same when I listen to “Still Hoopin” when Screw starts flowing. I will be doing this alot more now since Big Moe is featured on majority of the screw tapes and CD’s I own. I’ll pay homage the rest of this week by banging “All Day in da Tre”, “Barre”, “June 27th”, “Kaluminati” and countless others the Moe was featured on.

Big Pokey is one of the most talented rappers of the original screwed up click and I am anxiously awaiting another album. It is virtually impossible to top “Hardest Pit in da Litter”, but whatever he drops, I’ll get it anyway. Him and Lil Ke, even thought KeKe is reppin Swisha House right now are the only two original SUC members that I can think of. Who’s left? Don’t get it twisted, I know about Mike D, ESG, Pop, C-Note etc…but…who will step up the plate. My boy Z-RO, Lil Flip and Dat Boy Grace are what I call, second generation SUC. They weren’t on original gray tapes with Screw’s signature. They made it on the clear tapes.

With all that being said, I’ll continue to be a screw head and I’ll always support local SUC artist. RIP: DJ Screw, Fat Pat, Big HAWK, Big Moe. Peace & Blessing!

ps…I’m not letting anyone borrow my Screw tapes and CD’s, so don’t ask.

Comments
  1. Keshia says:

    Very good and interesting article. I grew up listening to Screw tapes. Once I heard my very 1st screw tape I was immediately addicted. Now everything I listen to with a few exceptions has to be chopped and screwed. And he knew how to get us cause on the most realest lyrics he would bring it back Not Once Not Twice But Three Times and just make a person hit the roof of there car (like man). But those were the days. R.I.P. to all!!!

  2. J dubb says:

    R.I.P. MOE…..The SUC is a living tragedy(see website) it’s like when I pop in tapes now I start counting the people who are dead or locked up.
    E.S.G brought up a major point though on the radio yesterday…and it was healthcare. A lot of these rappers don’t have healthcare because it’s something you typically don’t worry about as an entertainer. MOE was having problems for a while now and didn’t have sufficient healthcare. We as a people need to take a lesson from this.
    On another note I feel the best chance the SUC has is Trae or maybe Lil Ke outside of those two it seems no one has the work ethic it takes to be successfull…

  3. Crystal says:

    OMG I WAS AND STILL IS A BIG FAN OF FAT PAT BIG MOE AND BIG H.A.W.K. DEY STILL DA BOMB REPPIN DAT DIRTY SOUTH SIDE INCLUDING BUN B AND PIMP C WE MISS YOU BIG H.A.W.K. FAT PAT PIMP C AND MORE R.I.P I WISH U WAS STILL HERE I REALLY WANTED TO MEET U BEFORE U OR I DIED I GUESS DAT MY LUCK

  4. AL-D says:

    DO YOU HAVE A PIC OF AN ORIGINAL GRAY SCREW TAPE?

  5. poncho says:

    i see your up on the members but you forgot who started it the ownwer of dea kk

  6. Screwmatic says:

    I’m soo into Screw music dat, i can really go a day bangin’ screwzoo. I got almost all the Chapters screw tapes. I love da whole freestyles da S.U.C. g’s was bringin’. Gotta say R.I.P. to Big Troy, DJ Screw, Fat Pat, T Lee, Shawn, Lil’ Boo, Bay Town, Gator, Big mello, Big Steve, Big Hawk, D-Pac, Fooly Wayne & Big Moe.

    Mayne, i gotta say whut’s up to dem left OG’s S.U.C. niggas left. I’m talkin’ about….

    Lil’ Randy, Ron’O, Big Lenny, Big Pokey, E.S.G., King, Dave, Wacky J, 380 D, Big Wood, Lil’ C, Lil’ D, Dat Boy Grace, LOS, Haircut Joe, Big Jut, Bird, Duke, Lil’ Keke, Jason, Howard. Lil’ Black, corry Blount, Stick 1, Mr. 3-2, Big Horrace, D-Mo, Duke, Lil’ O, Big Legend, Slow, Mark, Tank, Dean, Key-C, Man Pooh, Poosy Lee, Big Toon, T-Roy, Wood, Mike D, Clay Doe, Boy Ron, Big Budd, Shorty Mac, Big Floyd, Al-D, Alb-B, Frail, Lil’ Reggie……. mayne i’m goin’ awwf in dis bitch.

  7. Ro says:

    does anyone know what tape they had fat pat & lil keke freestyling on that busta rhymes beat “put your hands where my eyes can see?” i got it off a random dub back in the day….i got hundreds of titles now, and haven’t ran across it sense. i’d appreciate it!!!

  8. emilio monante BMT TX says:

    rip to the originator dj screw and all the other greats who passed on……and hopeully the still syanding members will continue to bang screw ….like keke,big pokey ,z-ro,and lil flip ….even though keke is with swisha he still reps the screwed up click.

  9. Reginald says:

    Wow ,, R.I.P To All The S.U.C Fallen Soldiers .

  10. Daz says:

    Grace ain’t S.U.C.O.G.? Funny thought of you because he’s had his own B-Day tape 1996 a time were Screw still put his isht’ on the grey tapes! If he ain’t O.G. then it’s like no other O.G.’s either!

Leave a comment